A 4-room flat at Sun Plaza Spring is 93 square metres, which is about 1,001 square feet. Renovation on a flat that size starts at S$7,390 for the Most Popular move-in tier and S$16,990 for the bare unit tier with tiles. Both are starting prices, not estimates of your flat.
Key Takeaways
- HDB records this flat type at 93 sqm floor area and 90 sqm internal floor area, with 150 units of 4-room in the project.
- Converted, that is roughly 1,001 sqft gross and 969 sqft internal. Our packages are quoted in square feet, so this is the step that makes them comparable.
- The flat is new, so bathroom and toilet finishes fall under HDB's 3-year restriction period. Toilets here go on overlay. Overlay is the compliant method, not the cheap one.
- A two-toilet overlay package is S$10,290, and the kitchen plus two-toilet bundle is S$18,390 on a reduced kitchen coverage we set out below.
- Engage a contractor two to three months before your key collection appointment. Nothing physical can start before you hold the keys.
What HDB Actually Published About This Flat Type
Sun Plaza Spring is a Tampines project launched at HDB's August 2022 Build-To-Order sales exercise. The numbers below come from Annex A of that launch, Table A(1)(h), and are the only project figures we will state on this page.
| Item | Figure |
|---|---|
| Flat type | 4-room |
| Estimated floor area | 93 sqm |
| Estimated internal floor area | 90 sqm |
| Number of 4-room units | 150 |
| Indicative price range, excluding grants | S$381,000 to S$438,000 |
| Total 4-room and 5-room units | 267 |
The same annex records 117 units of 5-room at 113 sqm, and HDB's own narrative for the launch puts it plainly: buyers here choose from 267 units of 4-room and 5-room flats. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
93 Square Metres Is 1,001 Square Feet. Here Is the Arithmetic
HDB publishes flat sizes in square metres. Renovation packages in Singapore, including ours, are quoted in square feet. Almost nobody does the conversion, so almost nobody can tell whether a tiling allowance covers their flat.
One square metre is 10.7639 square feet.
- Floor area: 93 x 10.7639 = 1,001.04, so about 1,001 sqft.
- Internal floor area: 90 x 10.7639 = 968.75, so about 969 sqft.
- The gap between the two figures is 3 sqm, roughly 32 sqft.
Write 969 on the top of your quotation folder. That single number decides more of your budget than any material you will choose.
Why We Price Against the 90, Not the 93
HDB reports two areas for this flat, and they are not interchangeable. The larger 93 sqm figure is the one that appears in sales material. The smaller 90 sqm internal figure is the one that behaves like the space a tiler stands in.
Our practice is to scope floor finishes against the internal figure, then measure the actual rooms off the floor plan before anything is ordered. A 32 sqft discrepancy sounds trivial. At the point where a tiling allowance runs out, 32 sqft is a variation order and an argument.
If you want the general explanation of how our 4-room tiers are built before you go further, our 4-room BTO renovation package guide covers the tier structure across every project. This page covers what changes because the flat is at Sun Plaza Spring.
What Is the Sun Plaza Spring Completion Date?
Our client tracker records an estimated completion of June 2026. We want to be exact about where that comes from, because completion dates are the single most copied and least sourced number in this market.
That June date is from our own tracker. It is not stated in any HDB document we read today. What HDB published in August 2022 is that Sun Plaza Spring sits among the projects with the shortest waiting times, at roughly three years, and the sales brochure implies a 2026 handover without naming a month.
So treat June 2026 as our working assumption and your appointment letter as the fact. HDB sets key collection individually, after completion, and can revise it. Our HDB BTO completion date tracker holds the wider picture.
The 3-Year Restriction Period, and What It Restricts
HDB applies a 3-year restriction period to every newly built flat. What it restricts is the removal of finishes on bathroom and toilet floors and walls. The rule is set out in HDB's renovation guidelines for building works.
Counting three years from a completion around June 2026 puts the earliest hacking window at roughly June 2029. That is arithmetic on our tracker date, not a date HDB has published for this project, so confirm against your own completion notice.
The practical consequence is short. For the whole of your first renovation, the bathroom tiles that arrive with the flat stay where they are.
Why Your Toilets Get Overlay and Not Hacking
Overlay lays new surfaces over sound existing ones without breaking through to the waterproofing membrane underneath. In a flat of this age it is the only permitted route for bathroom floors and walls, so the choice was made for you.
This is worth saying because overlay is often sold as the budget option and quietly resented as a compromise. Here it is neither. Paying a contractor to hack a Sun Plaza Spring bathroom in 2026 would be paying to remove finishes you are not permitted to remove.
Our two-toilet BTO overlay package is S$10,290 and covers up to 250 sqft per toilet. If any contractor quotes you a hacking scope for this flat, that quotation tells you something about the contractor.
How Many Bathrooms Does a Sun Plaza Spring 4-Room Have?
We are not going to tell you. We have not read an HDB floor plan for this block, and a bathroom count is exactly the sort of number that gets copied between renovation sites until everyone is confidently wrong together.
You can settle it in about a minute. Open the floor plan in your own flat selection documents and count the areas marked Bath or WC. That count, and nothing else, sets the toilet line in every quotation you collect.
The package named above is priced for two. If your plan shows one, ask for a single-toilet scope and do not accept a two-toilet price with one bathroom's work in it. If it shows two, the S$10,290 scope is the one built for that.
What the Two-Toilet Overlay Package Covers
The S$10,290 two-toilet overlay package covers tile overlay to floors and walls in both toilets, up to 250 sqft per toilet, with tiles up to S$3.00 per sqft in 300 x 300 or 300 x 600 sizes. It includes water point extension and the installation of the water closet, bidet, basin with mixer tap, rainshower column with mixer, and a 15-litre storage heater.
Supplied with it: 2 water closets, 2 bidet sets, 2 basin and mixer tap sets, 2 rainshower columns, and 1 storage heater. Project management, supervision, material consultation, 3D rendering, technical drawings, haulage, floor and wall protection, debris disposal and a chemical wash are all inside the price.
What the Packages Do Not Cover
Three exclusions, stated plainly, because they are the ones that turn up as variation orders.
- Shower kerbs and drop kerbs are not included in the two-toilet overlay package. If you want a kerb to keep water off the dry side, price it separately.
- Tiles outside the standard sizes cost more. The allowance is up to S$3.00 per sqft at 300 x 300 or 300 x 600. Large format tiles are a different conversation and a different number.
- The kitchen cabinet allowance is 10 feet of run. A longer kitchen is something to settle before you sign, not after the carcasses are cut.
None of these are hidden. They are simply the lines most owners skip, and skipping them is how a fixed price stops being fixed.
The Kitchen Package, and the Bundle That Beats Buying Separately
Our kitchen BTO overlay package is S$10,990, covering a 10ft cabinet run, 150 sqft of floor overlay and 250 sqft of wall overlay.
Bought separately, a kitchen at S$10,990 plus two toilets at S$10,290 comes to S$21,280. Our kitchen plus two-toilet BTO overlay bundle is S$18,390. That is S$2,890 less.
The coverage is not identical, and we are not going to pretend it is. Inside the bundle, the kitchen floor overlay drops from 150 sqft to 100 sqft and the kitchen wall overlay drops from 250 sqft to 150 sqft. The two toilets stay at 250 sqft each. So the saving is real, and part of it is bought with 50 sqft of kitchen floor and 100 sqft of kitchen wall. For most 4-room kitchens that trade is worth taking. Measure yours first.
Which Tier Do Most 4-Room Owners Here Actually Need?
Our position, and it is a position rather than a menu.
For the wet areas of a brand new 4-room at this project, we would put most owners on the S$18,390 kitchen and two-toilet overlay bundle, and we would put nobody on a hacking scope. The restriction period settles the toilets, and the kitchen in a new flat rarely justifies breaking finishes that are three months old.
For the dry areas, the tier turns on one question you can answer yourself: do your bedrooms and living area arrive with a floor finish, or with bare screed? If they arrive finished, a move-in scope at S$7,390 is the honest answer. If they arrive bare, you are in bare unit territory and the S$9,600 gap between the two tiers is not a markup, it is floors and doors.
Move-In or Bare Unit: The Comparison
| Scope | From | Suits |
|---|---|---|
| 4-room Move-In, Most Popular | S$7,390 | Flat arrives largely finished underfoot |
| 4-room Bare Unit, Most Popular, tiles | S$16,990 | Bare screed; 700 sqft of tiling included |
| 2 Toilets BTO, overlay | S$10,290 | Both toilets, up to 250 sqft each |
| Kitchen BTO, overlay | S$10,990 | 10ft cabinet, 150 sqft floor, 250 sqft wall |
| Kitchen + 2 Toilets BTO, overlay | S$18,390 | Both, on 100 sqft kitchen floor and 150 sqft kitchen wall |
These are separate products with separate scopes. Whether you need one, two or three of them depends on the state of your flat at handover, which is why the paperwork check below comes before any quotation.
Where the 700 Square Foot Tiling Allowance Runs Out
This is the number that makes Sun Plaza Spring specific rather than generic. The S$16,990 bare unit package with tiles includes 700 sqft of tiling.
Your internal floor area is about 969 sqft. So the allowance covers roughly 72 per cent of the flat's internal area, and about 269 sqft sits outside it.
That does not automatically mean you are short. Kitchen and bathroom floors arrive tiled and are handled by their own packages, and the household shelter and service yard are not usually tiled to living-area standard. The dry areas are what the 700 sqft has to reach. Whether it does is a floor plan question, and the plan is in your own documents.
The Check to Do Before You Choose Tiles Over Vinyl
Take the floor plan, add up the living, dining and bedroom areas only, and compare that total against 700 sqft. If you are comfortably under, tiles at S$16,990 are a clean fit. If you are close to the line or above it, you are choosing between paying for the overage and changing material.
There is a vinyl version of the same bare unit tier. It sits below the tiled tier on price, and vinyl is laid over a prepared screed rather than set in adhesive bed, so it moves faster on site. We are not quoting a figure for it here because that number is not on our verified price list as at today, and we would rather leave the number out than guess it. Ask us for the current vinyl figure and we will give it to you in writing.
Permits, 15amp Points and Your Aircon
New 15amp power points, the kind higher-capacity appliances and some aircon installations need, require a permit in a flat without higher electrical loading. HDB sets this out in its renovation guidelines for electrical works.
This is worth raising early rather than in week three. Aircon points are usually decided at the same time as the ceiling and the bulkhead, and a permit that has not been thought about becomes a sequencing problem rather than a paperwork one.
Bring it up at your first scoping conversation. Any contractor who waves it away is telling you how the rest of the job will run.
The Timing That Follows From a 2026 Handover
Renovation cannot begin before you hold the keys. Everything that can be moved earlier is a decision, not a work item, and decisions are where owners lose weeks.
Engage a contractor two to three months before your key collection appointment. That window is enough to settle scope, choose materials, prepare permit submissions and book manpower, so work starts the week you collect keys instead of a month afterwards.
If your appointment has already been issued, the rule changes shape rather than disappearing. Use the days before handover for the paperwork check below, and do not sign anything in the first week purely because the keys are burning a hole in your pocket. Our BTO key collection checklist covers the appointment itself.
What to Do This Month
- Open your flat selection documents and confirm the floor area recorded for your unit, then write down 969 sqft as your working internal figure.
- Count the areas marked Bath or WC on your floor plan. That number sets your toilet scope.
- Add up living, dining and bedroom areas only, and compare the total with the 700 sqft tiling allowance.
- Confirm from your own paperwork whether bedroom and living floor finishes were included at booking or left out.
- Take those four lines to every quotation conversation. They cost nothing and they end most pricing arguments before they start.
How to Compare Quotes Without Overpaying
You compare scope, never headline price. Two quotations are comparable only when both state the same tiling area, the same tile grade, the same cabinet run length and the same inclusions.
Ask for quantities and unit rates in writing. A quotation that omits haulage, protection, debris disposal or chemical washing is not cheaper than one that includes them. It is later, and the difference arrives as a variation order once your flat is already a building site.
Ask one more question while you are at it. Ask what happens if the tiling area measures out above the allowance. A contractor who has a clear answer has done this before.
If You Also Looked at the 5-Room Here
The 5-room at this project is 113 sqm, roughly 1,216 sqft, with 117 units. That is about 215 sqft more internal-scale area than the 4-room, and the tiling and carpentry lines move with it.
We keep a separate page for that flat type at Sun Plaza Spring 5-room renovation. If you are comparing the two flat types before an appointment, read both rather than assuming the 4-room figures scale by ratio.
Working With Us on a Sun Plaza Spring 4-Room
We are an HDB Registered Renovation Contractor under Licence HB-11-5877Z and a BCA-approved contractor, holding bizSAFE Level 3 certification and PMI membership. We have worked on HDB flats since 2017. You can check that licence number in HDB's directory yourself, and we would rather you did than took our word for it.
If your flat arrives bare underfoot, the bare unit tier at S$16,990 is the scope built for it. If the wet areas are the whole job, the kitchen and two-toilet bundle at S$18,390 is where most owners of this flat type land.
Still Deciding, and Not Ready to Hire Anyone
That is a reasonable place to be, and it is not the same conversation as appointing a contractor. If what you want is someone to sanity-check a scope, read a quotation before you commit, or tell you whether a tiling allowance actually covers your plan, you can have that at ai-deal.ai, where homeowners get renovation questions reviewed without hiring anyone.
Deciding well is cheaper than deciding fast. A 4-room at 969 sqft internal is a flat where a single scoping error costs more than the fee of getting the scope right.
Frequently Asked Questions
How big is a 4-room flat at Sun Plaza Spring?
HDB records 93 sqm of floor area and 90 sqm of internal floor area for the 4-room at this project, across 150 units. Converted at 10.7639 sqft per sqm, that is about 1,001 sqft and about 969 sqft respectively.
What does a 4-room renovation at Sun Plaza Spring cost?
A move-in package starts at S$7,390 and a bare unit package with tiles starts at S$16,990, including 700 sqft of tiling. Wet areas are separate: two toilets on overlay is S$10,290. These are starting prices for the tiers named, not an estimate of your unit.
Can I hack the bathroom tiles in a new Sun Plaza Spring flat?
No. HDB applies a 3-year restriction period to newly built flats covering the removal of bathroom and toilet floor and wall finishes, as set out in its building works guidelines. Overlay is the compliant route until that period ends.
When is Sun Plaza Spring completed?
Our client tracker records an estimated completion of June 2026. HDB's August 2022 launch material states only that this project sits among those with the shortest waiting times, at roughly three years, and the sales brochure implies a 2026 handover without naming a month. Your appointment letter from HDB is the authoritative date.
Do I need a permit to add a 15amp power point for my aircon?
In a flat without higher electrical loading, new 15amp points require a permit. The requirement is set out in HDB's electrical works guidelines. Raise it at scoping, not after the ceiling is closed.
When should I engage a contractor for this project?
Two to three months before your key collection appointment. That gives design, material orders and permit submissions time to run in parallel, so physical work can start the week you collect keys. No renovation can begin before handover.
Sources
- HDB Annex A, August 2022 BTO Flat Supply and Pricing Details — Table A(1)(h) for flat type, floor area, internal floor area, unit count and indicative price range; Table A(1)(f) for the unit mix.
- HDB press release, August 2022 BTO launch — waiting time of roughly three years and the 267-unit 4-room and 5-room mix.
- HDB sales brochure, Sun Plaza Spring — project details and implied 2026 handover.
- HDB renovation guidelines, building works — the 3-year restriction period on removing bathroom and toilet floor and wall finishes.
- HDB renovation guidelines, electrical works — permit requirement for new 15amp power points.
Disclaimer: Package scopes and prices in this Sun Plaza Spring guide are our own listed starting prices for the tiers named as at September 2026 and may change. The June 2026 completion date is from our internal client tracker and is not stated in any HDB document cited here; completion and key collection dates are set by the Housing and Development Board and can shift. Floor areas quoted are HDB's estimated figures for the flat type, not a measured survey of your unit. Your final quotation depends on your flat's condition at handover, the finishes already installed, and your final scope. Confirm current details with us and with HDB before committing.